Skip to main content

Welcome

Hello, my name is Mark Norton (a.k.a. mrknorton4007) and welcome to my blog!

What is this?

This is my personal website. I’m 22, living in Birmingham and working as a programmer so most (not all) of the contents here will talk about that.

I decided to open this site to share thoughts and tutorials in the hope that they can be interesting or useful to someone else.

Articles are always written by me but sometimes they can be inspired by other articles or tutorials. In that case I will put a link to the original source at the bottom of the page.

Maybe I will also share some personal project that I create in my free time.

Sparkling theme

I like minimalism, so Sparkling is a perfect theme choice for my blog. It’s a clean, modern, flat design theme developed by colorlib using Bootstrap. Some small changes were enough to fit the theme to my taste.

Again, if not made by me (like this one), header images will be linked at the end of the article.

What is Kudos?

Kudos is a jQuery plugin to add little widgets that enable users to give “Kudos”. It’s an alternative to Facebook’s like for readers to show their appreciation.

To give kudos simply hovers the Kudo-button. A small animation will start for as long as the visitor leaves his cursor on the button. When the animation is finished and the Kudo-button is filled, the count goes up by one.

Kudos is available on GitHub as a standalone version and WordPress plugin. For my installation I made some changes so the count is shared through all the pages and not individual for each post.